Halloween GPS

25 Oct

BOO!

Down boy!

So, what are you going to be for Halloween?

And what does that say about where you “are” in your life?

At various times in my life, I have been a pumpkin, a circus clown, a gypsy, a ghost, a court jester, a brain surgeon, Cat Woman, Dorothy Parker, a sexy ventriloquist, an ultra sexy Martian, Edith Piaf, a nun with a fly swatter, Charlie Chaplin, an urban cowgirl, and nothing.

Nothing is NO fun!

I will leave it up to your imaginations as to which developmental phases I was bumbling through at the various times when those particular costumes were selected. Where was I?

Halloween used to be almost exclusively for children, but today the “dress-up party” is increasingly popular with adults. There is nothing more annoying than a middle-aged man in a diaper, holding a rattle, begging every woman in the room to breast feed him.

The Kid

However, costume parties are an irresistible opportunity for us to connect with our inner playful children, expose our flamboyant tendencies, and possibly reveal that latent cross dressing compulsion. Halloween can be a great opportunity to embrace your inherent theatricality and perhaps even flirt with notions of reinvention.

BarbBest

What fun - a nun at a party

This year I am going to be… a pet psychologist specializing in early puppy development. Sounds like therapy fun.

So, what are YOU going TO BE for Halloween? I’d love to know!

Popular Halloween Costumes 2011 – Time Magazine

Copyright 2011

17 Responses to “Halloween GPS”

  1. Dawn@LlightenUp! October 25, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    This year I am going to be a…gas station attendant. Just like I am every year. Thank God for that Sohio job in te 80s…my blue jumpsuit is coming in handy!

    • BARB BEST October 25, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

      With the price of gasoline today, that’s a luxury business. “Filler up.”

  2. Sooch October 25, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    We’ve decided to be a bunch of “DUMB ASSES”. We know, we know, a far stretch HOWEVER, isn’t that what Halloween is all about (besides candy)….. being someone or something other than what you are on a daily basis? Let the fun begin.

  3. tc510 October 25, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    I am going to be the spider queen for a party morphed from a Morticia Addams costume I am going to be for work. My entire group is coming to work as the Addams Family.

    • BARB BEST October 25, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      I love the Addams family! Even met the New Yorker cartoonist Charles Addams once.

  4. kalanicut October 26, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Barb, I love you costume idea! Fantastic. I am not much of a Halloween-er, but with a man & little one who are crazy for Halloween, I feel like I should come up with something good. Must put on thinking cap!

  5. ditchthebun October 27, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I am going to be a Pirate Queen for my Halloween Hens night this weekend and I even have a Pirate crew. We all have little nametags – I’m the Pirate Queen, my lil sis is a Pirate Princess, rather than a Bosun my Maid of Honor has the label Bosom etc. etc. can’t wait!

  6. harlan petersen October 29, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I would like someone to really specialize as a pet psychologist SPECIALIZING in HOW TO
    KEEP THEIR DOGS FROM BARKING ALL DAY when the owner is not home.

  7. Nancy Wurtzel October 31, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Edith Piaf. I also spit my wine on my computer screen. Any pictures of you as dear Edith?? You really are funny!! Keep ’em coming and Happy Halloween.

    • BARB BEST November 1, 2011 at 7:33 am #

      Thanks, Nancy! Will have to look and see if I have a pic of me as “The Little Sparrow” – I know I have the wardrobe (all black, a splash of red for drama)

  8. Sharon November 1, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    The other day for work I wore a fuzzy, white halo and black cat earrings. A customer asked what I was supposed to be. Not having thought that far ahead, I blurted out “Bi-witch-ual.”

    • BARB BEST November 1, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks, Sharon. I love it – “bi-witch-ual” – that’s great!

  9. marucankissmyfurry... November 2, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    What’s the perfect accessory for a cow spotted cat on Halloween? An udder, of course! My costume was so cool that I might start wearing it on a regular basis.

  10. thegirlfriendmom November 2, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    I was going to go as a Muslim woman in my Abaya, but then I thought better of it. I wasn’t sure how it would’ve been perceived. On the flip side, I had 12 year old come to my door dressed as a pimp! I’m so proud of today’s youth!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rhyme Time « Barb's Blast - December 1, 2011

    […] Halloween GPS (barbsblast.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

