Check This Out

2 Aug

Don’t you despise those “DO-IT-YOURSELF LADY” check-out kiosks?

Barb's Blast

Bossy discount store employees bark at you to line up in front of the “Express” machine and DO THE WORK YOURSELF. Isn’t that why we’re paying $5.89 for Weight Watchers Dark Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream Bars?

So some one else will scan and bag the items?

Jeez, isn’t that what the employees (aka “check-out personnel”) are paid to do?

Self check-out lanes charge you the same price – with ZERO customer service.

If I’m going to scan my Q-Tips, canned corn and Kellogg’s Special K – I’m insisting upon lower prices PLUS medical and dental benefits from The Man!

Fellow shoppers, what do you think? Do you agree?

4 Responses to “Check This Out”

  1. Cherie Reich August 2, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I must be weird or anti-social or something. I love the self check-out lanes. I just want to go in, get my groceries, and get out of there without having to talk to anyone, if I don’t want to. I can bag my groceries the way I like too. Now, I have had some lovely people check out my items and I don’t mind going into their lanes. But some of the others…it’s just better to do it yourself.

  2. aftertheshow August 2, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I definitely prefer to have an employee scan and bag the items…Having a machine replace the human being seems very impersonal, not to mention that it takes more time and creates frustration when the machine doesn’t cooperate.

    I laughed out loud at the line “I’m insisting upon lower prices PLUS medical and dental benefits from The Man!”

    • BARB BEST August 3, 2011 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you for your comments. I agree. Great minds think alike!

Leave a Reply

