Got Nutella?

6 Jul
Nutella Barb Best

Choco lotto!

Help! I’m going nuts (or should I say “Nutsella”) over Nutella!

Why am I seeing Nutella everywhere?  There are pig-size jars of Nutella in the supermarket, buckets of Nutella at Costco, numerous Nutella promotions in women’s magazines, Nutella recipes all over the nutty web, cloying accolades to Nutella on many an otherwise sensible food and parenting blog.

There is probably a support group – N.A. – “Nutellaholics Anonymous.”

Nutella is swella, but enough already. (Overexposure can do you in – just ask Smiley Miley Cyrus.)  And shouldn’t it be called chocolate-tella?  Or choco-tella?  After all, it is chocolate.

In case you’ve been living under a hickory nut tree, Nutella is a popular chocolate and hazelnut spread (a.k.a. frosting) used on sandwiches (especially scrumptious if you’re bored sick with ho-hum peanut butter and jaded jelly) and, as of late, ladled generously onto just about every other imaginable food item under the sun.

Of course, most people secretly prefer eating it straight from the jar – au naturel.

Expect a mouthwatering, finger-licking, lip-smacking experience. The more you consume in one sitting, the better. (So what if it’s 200+ calories a teaspoon.) IT’S CHOCOLATE!

Nutella is silky and seductive.  It won’t surprise you that it was created by an Italian company also known for their Ferrero Rocher sweets.  Ciao, Mamma.  Ciao, Mia.  Ciao to your waistline.

Nutella “Umbrella” spoof:

11 Responses to “Got Nutella?”

  1. Dawn July 7, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Yeah…200 calories a Tbsp? Addictive?

    • BARB BEST July 7, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      To be absolutely precise, 2 tablespoons (one serving) = 200 calories. One small serving…

  2. Regina July 9, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    I agree with you Barb. Too much is too much. I have seen it but really don’t know what it is. I guess I am a little out of the loop.

    • BARB BEST July 11, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Thanks, Regina! If you like hazelnut and chocolate, you’ll love Nutella.

  3. harlan petersen July 12, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    YUM< YUM< Jeannine has had it in the pantry for several years now and, so far, has been
    able to control herself . . as have I. But this is only because we usually have some OTHER
    type of chocolate available. I TRY NOT TO THINK ABOUT IT and go for the mixed nuts

    • BARB BEST July 29, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      It’s from Italy – I know you love it!

  4. demi16525 September 15, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    I love Nutella but haven’t seen many ads for it…

  5. ersn September 16, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I think it’s the devil in the jar ! Once I start, I never give up. So, do you have any comments for that problem ??

  6. K a b l o o e y September 19, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I’m with ersn. Every frigging time I buy a jar, I hear “It’s got the same calories per serving as peanut butter…butter… butter.” (Yeah, there’s an echo. Stop sneering at me.) Then I have it on a high fiber 100 calorie english muffin for breakfast. No problem, except I know I’m lying to myself because I hide it so my family doesn’t get any. Next thing I know I’m at the damn jar with spoons, knives, my index finger, the back end of a fork, anything, until it’s scraped clean. Nutella is evil. EEEEE-vil!

  7. ditchthebun September 28, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Nutella is evil!! My favourite from when I was a kid was spreading it over an Arnots Arrowroot biscuit and then dipping it in sprinkles, another fav is chocolate fairybread! If you all haven’t tried it and love Nutella you just know you are going to now. Whenever my friends kids have parties I take chocolate fairybread over and damned if its not the parents scooping into it everytime!!!

    • BARB BEST September 29, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      Nutella is evil🙂 “Chocolate fairybread” – that I’ve got to try! Thanks ditchbun!

Leave a Reply

