What To Wear?

25 Jan

The eternal question looms before us daily. What to wear?

For me, the answer is simple. What works for me?  Black, black and more black!

Boo!

Okay, some gray (it matches my roots) but not too many shades of gray as that shatters my clarity.

As a transplanted NY comedy writer in LA and the 2010 Erma Bombeck Global Humor Winner (Erma rocks!) I feel compelled to wear black most days.  (So much so, that my concerned neighbor inquired, “Dear, are you in mourning?”)

For me, black summons the Muse. Black is cosmopolitan. Black is bodacious. Ha, I know what you’re thinking. Yes, black camouflages belly fat, love handles and flabby thighs (all the more reason to love it, I say!)

I like “comfy shab” when I’m plugging away on my humor blog Barb’s Blast (you’re reading it now honey!) or my books (stay tuned!) but also when – like many contemporary women (translation: multi-tasking, overachieving masochists)

I am a working wife (is there any other kind?), working mother (geez, is there any other kind?) coach, mentor, CFO, CEO, COO, microwave chef, dog nurturer, Satellite Sisters & Chaos Chronicles fan, Dorothy Parker & Robert Benchley worshiper, entrepreneur, bad TV aficionado, pop culture critic, aspiring cougar, pet therapist, chief wine and water bottle recycler, caffeine addict and other things I can’t recall.

With classic black and gray styles, I am as equally fashionable squeezing cantaloupe and kiwi in the busy market as editors and clients in onerous business meetings.

I am as comfortable stripping down in airport security lines as I am crafting uppity one-liners.

I look casually chic even when I feel as scattered as a pile of pick-up sticks in a 5.5 earthquake.

Shucks, I toss some fake pearls on and folks take me for a classy broad.

Serious and playful; It works for me.

Classic Song

Play or download at

5 Responses to “What To Wear?”

  1. Health and Humor - by Dave Glardon January 25, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Fun post Barb! I always wear black onstage. It stands out well against the brick wall behind me, and it blends in with the darkness if I need to step out of the spotlight and run for the hills. Besides, it does have a slimming effect – in my black shirts, I only look mildly obese!

    • BARB BEST January 26, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      Thanks Dave. I hear black looks quite attractive in a mug shot, too.

  2. harlan petersen January 25, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I’m now considering going shopping for a pair of BLACK jeans because of your loyalty and support to the (non) color.

    We got a real “kick’ out of this blog, Barbara, esp. your Sound of Music lyrics invention referring to the Housewives of Beverly Hills.
    We actually sang them to see if they fit OK; they did!

    • BARB BEST January 30, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      Thanks Harlan. Men look great in black jeans, go for it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention What To Wear? « Barbs Blast -- Topsy.com - January 25, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by molly campbell, Barb Best. Barb Best said: Why can't we all dress like Lady GaGa? Barbs Blast: http://t.co/0iWhlBg @EBWW @DawnLightenUp @rosevalenta @mollydcampbell @Barbara EBrink […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

